Scavenger Hunt 1: “You’ll know it when you see it”

I’ve mentioned that the spirits who’ve communicated with me will send me on a mission to retrieve something.  During a reading on November 1, I was told that there was a blue and white floral vase–looks like it’s 100 years old–and I’d find it somewhere like a yard sale or shop of some sort.  There would be engraving or writing on the bottom, and the vase is worth more than the owners think–“people don’t know what they’re giving away.”  The vase is kind of skinny on the bottom and kind of skinny on the top.

But the most daunting detail: “You’ll know it when you see it.”

Anyone who knows me, knows that this is just the sort of thing that would drive me crazy.  And at a yard sale?  It was November–surely my spirit relative wouldn’t make me wait until Spring to come across this item.  Surely they’d know that the attention I’d pay to sighting this object would literally make me insane.

And then, on November 6, after peeking in an average of 2 shops a day (of no specific category–Good Will, antique, even a dang Pier 1), and after finding about 15 blue and white floral vases (none with writing on the bottom); I was frustrated, accusing myself of being ridiculous, and then I saw it.  A little skinny on the bottom, and a little skinny on the top.  But was their writing on the bottom?

It was a glass shelf in a resale shop, surrounding by junk like old glass mugs and those vases that come from every florist there ever was.  But this vase was different.  I looked at the bottom: Royal Bonn Delft.

I paid $25 for it and left.  Upon researching Royal Bonn Delft, I learned there was a porcelain maker in Bonn, Germany between 1890 and 1920 who hand-made Delft.  It really was 100 years old, and it really was beautiful.  There was a sticker on the vase (although it looks more like a ginger jar now that I’ve done the research) at the resale shop that said 11/4/2013.  I asked the woman was it meant.  She said that was the date the item was dropped off at the shop–Three days after my reading, and two days before I found it.

This was the first tangible validation of my experience.  More to come 🙂

Leave a comment